Canberra Citizen of the Year

Citizen of the Year logoThe Canberra Citizen of the Year Award is an initiative of the ACT Government and recognises citizens who have made a major contribution to the community.  The award is significant - it recognises the efforts of individuals in the community and also helps to promote a sense of civic pride.  The award was first introduced in 1989, continuing a tradition started by The Canberra Times some years prior to self government. 

The Award is presented by the Chief Minister in March each year as part of Canberra's birthday celebrations.

2016 Canberra Citizen of the Year: Narelle Hargreaves OAM

Mrs Narelle Hargreaves OAM is recognised for her services to children and young people through her devoted work with the ACT Children’s Week Committee, as Official Visitor for Children, Young People and Disability, and her long career as a teacher, principal and Director of ACT Government schools.

History and Previous Award Winners

Read further about history and stories of previous winners:


Nominations may be made at any time, with the cut off for any given year being 31 January.  Forms may be obtained by phoning the Chief Minister and Treasury Directorate on
+61 2 6205 3031 or

Submit online online nomination form

Canberra Citizen of the Year Nomination form [PDF 25KB] [Word 28KB]