ACT Government’s first citizens’ jury selected

Released 06/10/2017

A group of 56 Canberrans will deliberate on how the ACT’s Compulsory Third-Party (CTP) insurance scheme can be improved to better protect all road users, as the ACT Government's first citizens' jury gets underway.

The jury was recruited from a random sample of Canberrans contacted through Australia Post and Vote Compass, with the selection undertaken by experienced facilitators democracyCo.

The individual jury members represent the diversity of the Canberra community, ensuring a broad range of perspectives and views will be included.

Forty five percent of the jury are women, 66 percent own their own homes and more than 10 per cent of the jurors are under 24. The jury also reflects a range of road users with cyclists, pedestrians, public transport users and motorists all represented.

DemocracyCo has selected 56 people to allow for the possibility that some jurors may find themselves unable to participate or complete the process.

The Government is piloting the citizens’ jury to consider with the community and other key stakeholders how to improve the current CTP insurance scheme so it reflects the priorities of Canberrans.

Over two weekends of sittings in October, the jury will develop priorities for an improved CTP scheme. These will then be handed to a Stakeholder Reference Group that will undertake the technical task of designing and developing workable models. These models will be taken back to the jury for a final determination on which one best meets the needs of the Canberra community based on the priorities.

If you would like to see first-hand how the citizens’ jury works, you can register your interest to attend an observer tour at

To avoid disrupting the work of the jury, places will be limited and participants will be randomly selected by democracyCo.

DemocracyCo CEO, Emily Jenke is available for media interviews via phone regarding the selection process.

- Statement ends -

Section: ACT Chief Minister and Treasury Directorate | Media Releases

Media Contacts

Name Phone Mobile Email

Emily Jenke (democracy Co)

0427 834 062

Fiona Dolan

6207 1757

0402 410 108

«ACT Government Media Releases | «Directorate Media Releases