B.5 Internal Audit

The CMTEDD Audit and Risk Committee (the Committee) assisted the Director-General in fulfilling her oversight and governance responsibilities. The Committee’s functions were governed by an Audit and Risk Committee Charter. Membership of the Committee included an independent Chair, John Gordon, an independent Deputy Chair, Carol Lilley, an executive from another ACT Government agency and three appointees from within the directorate.

The Shared Services Audit, Risk and Security Committee established to provide oversight of specific Shared Services risks was discontinued in November 2015 and responsibility for the oversight was moved to the Committee. Part of the process of transferring responsibility of Shared Services saw the Deputy Chair of the Shared Services Audit Risk and Security Committee move to the Deputy Chair position of the Committee to provide continuity.

A representative from the ACT Audit Office and advisors regularly attended meetings. The Executive Director, Corporate and the Chief Finance Officer attended as observers.

Four general meetings were held during the year. The number of general meetings attended by committee members is as follows:

Name of Member PositionDuration Meetings Attended
John Gordon Independent Member and Chair July 2015 to June 2016 4/4
Carol Lilley Independent Member and Deputy Chair November 2015 to June 2016 3/3
Geoffrey Rutledge Member July 2015 to June 2016 4/4
Karen Doran Member July 2015 to February 2016 3/3
Leanne Cover Independent Directorate Member July 2015 to February 2016 1/3
Gary Rake Member July 2015 to August 2015 0/1
Sam Engele Member October 2015 to November 2015 1/1
Louise Gilding Member January 2016 to March 2016 1/1
Ian Thompson Independent Directorate Member March 2016 to June 2016 0/1
Peter Murray Member March 2016 to June 2016 0/1

Internal audit services were provided by private audit firms. Internal audits were selected from an internal audit program developed by the directorate after identifying areas of operational and financial risk. The proposed internal audit program was then approved by the Director-General and overseen by the Committee.

Seven audits were completed in the 2015-16 financial year as follows:

  • Land Supply Strategy;
  • ACT Property Group - Property Management Operations;
  • Asbestos Response Taskforce Review;
  • Public Housing Renewal Taskforce;
  • Shared Services Human Resources Review;
  • Shared Services Accounts Payable; and
  • ACT Revenue Management Office.

Field work was completed for a further six audits, all of which are expected to be presented to the Committee in August 2016. These audits are as follows:

  • Data Integrity Review;
  • COBIT Review;
  • Invoice Automation - Project Assurance/ System Under Development;
  • Long Service Leave;
  • Compliance with Audit Office Recommendations – Shared Services; and
  • Staff Entitlements.

For further information contact:

Sue Hall
Executive Director
+61 2 6207 0569

Previous page Next page