ACT Executive


The ACT Executive consists of the Chief Minister and other Ministers and their staff. The ACT Executive has powers under the Australian Capital Territory (Self Government) Act 1988 to govern the Territory and execute and maintain enactments and laws.

During the reporting period the responsibility for the administration of the budget appropriation for the ACT Executive rested with the Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate. Governance oversight, including Audit and Risk Committee, forms part of the governance structure within the directorate. The ACT Executive financial results, including asset management, and the Management Discussion and Analysis are reported in Volume 2 of the 2015-16 Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate Annual Report.

Barr Ministry

Andrew Barr  

  • Chief Minister
  • Treasurer
  • Minister for Economic Development
  • Minister for Tourism and Events
  • Minister for Urban Renewal

Simon Corbell

  • Deputy Chief Minister
  • Attorney-General
  • Minister for Capital Metro
  • Minister for Health
  • Minister for Police and Emergency Services
  • Minister for the Environment and Climate Change

Shane Rattenbury

  • Minister for Corrections
  • Minister for Education
  • Minister for Justice and Consumer Affairs
  • Minister for Road Safety

Mick Gentleman

  • Minister for Planning and Land Management
    Minister for Racing and Gaming
  • Minister for Workplace Safety and Industrial Relations

Yvette Berry

  • Minister for Housing, Community Services and Social Inclusion
  • Minister for Multicultural and Youth Affairs
  • Minister for Sport and Recreation
  • Minister for Women

Meegan Fitzharris1

  • Minister for Higher Education, Training and Research
  • Minister for Transport and Municipal Services
  • Assistant Minister for Health

Chris Bourke2

  • Minister for Aboriginal and Torres Islander Affairs
  • Minister for Children and Young People
  • Minister for Disability
  • Minister for Small Business and the Arts
  • Minister for Veterans and Seniors

1 Meegan Fitzharris was appointed as a Minister in January 2016.

2 Chris Bourke was appointed as a Minister in January 2016.


Staff are employed under the Legislative Assembly (Members Staff) 1989 Act (LAMS Act).

Number of staff employed at 30 June 2016

Classification Number of Staff
Executive Chief of Staff 1.0
Senior Adviser L2 8.0
Senior Adviser L1 14.7
Adviser L2 12.0
Adviser L1 (upper) 12.0
TOTAL 47.7

Gender breakdown at 30 June 2016

LAMS – ACT Executive Female Male Total
FTE by gender 21.0 26.7 47.7
Percentage of workforce 44% 56%  

Financial management and associated reporting was provided to the ACT Executive through the Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate. The provision of payroll services was through Shared Services.

Accommodation and building security was controlled by the Office of the Legislative Assembly, who also provided oversight of workplace health and safety and associated risk management, facilities management and workplace environmental management. Reporting on these issues is contained in the 2015-16 ACT Office of the Legislative Assembly Annual Report.

Corporate administrative and financial support, including protocol matters, awards, functions and events, were provided by the Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate. Administrative operations are subject to the same governance controls in relation to risk management, fraud prevention and records management as the Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate, and reporting is included in the relevant section of the directorate’s annual report.

The Executive’s legal services are provided by the ACT Government Solicitor’s Office, which review any issues to ensure compliance with the Model Litigant Guidelines.

Further information may be obtained from:

Sue Hall
Executive Director
Chief Minister, Treasury and Economic Development Directorate
+61 2 6207 0569

Previous page Next page